Scholarship Fund

The Anthony (Tony) McLaughlin Memorial Scholarship is awarded yearly to one player on the Twins. Tony was a "Twin" his entire hockey career. You could say he had our logo tattooed on his butt. He played the game he so dearly loved with heart and such passion that he won the team's "hardest working player award" each and every year he played for us. He continually commented to his parents that he felt privileged to be able to attend university with the support of his family when many of his teams were not as fortunate.

On May 27th 2000, one day shy of his 21st birthday, Tony was beaten to death out side a local Winnipeg hotel. His family in conjunction with their business Pal Plastic Group, set up though the Winnipeg Foundation a scholarship in their son's name. They did this to full fill Tony's wish of giving a player on his team the same opportunity he had. Each year, multiple players from the Twins are selected by the McLaughlin family to receive a scholarship.

The Anthony McLaughlin Scholarship is unique in that the recipients do not have to be straight A students, but they have to show a desire to succeed not only on the "playing field", but in life as well.

Mike Ashley

Anthony (Tony) McLaughlin Memorial Scholarship winners:

  • 2017/18 - Dylan Moll
  • 2016/17 - Zach Bailey
  • 2015/16 - Harley Hussey
  • 2014/15 - Scott Shayna
  • 2013/14 - Nick Doyle
  • 2012/13 - Jeremy Yocom
  • 2011/12 - Benjamin Fowler
  • 2010/11 - Dillon Acheson
  • 2009/10 - Mackenzie Acheson
  • 2008/09 - James Richardson
  • 2007/08 - Chad Cunningham
  • 2006/07 - Matt Fisher
  • 2005/06 - Robert Saurette
  • 2004/05 - Reggie Bilodeau
  • 2003/04 - Eric Hasinoff
  • 2002/03 - Kevin Zarrillo
  • 2001/02 - Ryan McGregor
  • 2000/01 - Cam Jones 

Additional scholarship winners:

  • 2017/18
    • Luke Zacharias
    • Jared Bucci
    • Eric Lecuyer
    • David MacDonald

  •  2016/17
    • Kaelin Baydock
    • Ben Kirton
    • Cole Zadro
    • Zach Odwak

  • 2015/16
    • Mack Cardinal
    • Mario Fiorentino
    • Brandon Pochinco
    • Scott Morrison



PAL Group

Omni Glass   Structural Composite Technologies